Subjuntivo — or how it’s all coming back to me

Today, I started to work on “subjuntivo” with my Spanish teacher, after we breezed through “futuro” and “condicional”.

Learning that el subjuntivo is not a tense per se, but more a mode of speaking, my analytical language opened wide up brain and it all came rushing back to me: German classes and studying grammar many, many moons ago and then 1985, when I first started studying French. Not only can I remember the specifics in several languages, I can almost quote the teachers from back then, FREAKY.

Additionally, I’ve realized that I break the languages down to their skeletons, search for easy ways to remember why a certain tense or mode of speaking is asking for a change in vowel, is regular or irregular and how the endings for the different persons (1st person, singular, ie) change or not…

I freak myself out with my long term memory and my Spanish teacher seems to be impressed.

I’m not writing this to show off, I’m just amazed that I remember and that my analytical brain works so well with languages!

Leave a Reply

